A New Toaster

Howdy!

It’s been a while. Life has been, well, life. But here we are, back again with a new piece of writing. This poem goes to all the people who have been living with something subpar. Something underwhelming, but we tell ourselves that it’s okay. We don’t need the best. Maybe we don’t even deserve the best. But I’m here to remind you that you do deserve all things good, including toast that isn’t burnt. 

A New Toaster

Sometimes my toaster doesn’t work. 

Sometimes it works great, 

giving me a golden piece of toast, starting the day off right. 

But other days, 

my toast gets burnt, 

leaving a bad taste in my mouth.

Leaving me feeling empty.

Some days I want to get rid of it,

toss it in the trash and look for a new model. 

Something better.

But then I think of the bond.

I’ve had the toaster for as long as I can remember. 

Something my mother gave me. 

And then I think of the effort of going out and getting a new one. 

It all just seems to be too much.

So, I stick with my broken toaster 

because it’s all I’ve known.

because I’ve grown used to the burnt taste it leaves in my mouth

because I don’t think I need anything better.

Leave a comment